Lise Fuhr, Chair (Europe) Term: 2019 – 2022

Nominating Committee
Advisory Council Liaison

lise_photo thumbnail

Lise Fuhr is ETNO’s Director General. Prior to that, she was Chief Operating Officer of DK Hostmaster and DIFO, the company managing the .dk domain name. In the period between September 2014 and December 2015 she also chaired the Cross Community Working Group for the IANA Stewardship Transition, building on her strong network within the internet community. She has recently been appointed to the Internet Society Public Interest Registry Board of Directors for a three year term starting in July 2016.

Lise has 10+ years of experience in the telecoms industry. She started her career at the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology & Innovation (1996-2000) where she wrote and implemented regulation for the telecommunication markets. After that, she worked for the telecoms operator Telia Networks (2000-2009), where she led various teams dealing with issues as diverse as interconnection agreements, mobile services and industry cooperation.

Lise is a Danish national.

Jeffrey Bedser, Vice Chair (N. America) Term: 2017-2020

Audit and Risk Committee, Chair
Finance and Investment Committee
Nominating Committee

Jeffrey Bedser is an entrepreneur with extensive private and public sector experience.  He is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of iThreat Cyber Group Inc. and has spent decades building technology, services and solutions to combat Internet abuse and crime.  Mr. Bedser spent his early career in Fortune 100 global security functions. Mr. Bedser is a member of the Security and Stability Advisory Council for ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) and serves on the Editorial Board of the Security Journal.

Jay Daley, Secretary, Treasurer (Asia Pacific) Term: 2018 – 2021

Finance and Investment Committee, Chair
Audit and Risk Committee

Jay has had a thirty-year career as a technologist, the majority of it as a senior leader, in a variety of organisations across the public, not-for-profit and private sectors.  His first roles were in software development and network management progressing to CTO and CEO.  He now runs a boutique internet technology and strategy consultancy firm, with a special focus on an open internet and all things data.

Jay moved into the domain name industry in 2002 as CTO of the .uk registry for six years, where he gained a reputation for his inclusive and innovative approach.  He then moved to New Zealand, where he still lives with his family, to take up the role of CEO of the .nz registry, which he held for nine years. His tenure at .nz was notable for high growth levels, world-leading research and innovation particularly in the area of data analytics, and the successful introduction of new products and services outside of the domain name industry.

When he first used the internet in 1986, Jay was immediately hooked and now describes himself as an internet fundamentalist – committed to protecting the open internet and the principles that make it what it is today.  He volunteers as an active member of the ICANN Security and Stability Advisory Committee, and is increasingly involved in using open data for enhancing transparency and tackling corruption.

Jay is an advocate for strong corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, a culture of audit and review, and supporting the executive as they deliver a clear and forward-looking strategy.

Narelle Clark, Member (Asia Pacific) Term: 2018 – 2020

Audit and Risk Committee
Compensation Committee

Narelle Clark is Deputy CEO at the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN) the peak body for consumer advocacy in the Australian telecommunications and internet marketplaces. Responsible for their research and grants program, Narelle ensures it produces high quality outcomes that support consumer education and a fair go for consumers in the communications marketplace. With over twenty years of experience and qualifications in Applied Physics, Engineering and Management, Narelle has deep expertise in internet and telecommunications technology and policy from both the strategic and hands-on perspectives and sits on a range of in-depth technology policy boards and working groups as a consumer representative. Narelle is a former head of CSIRO’s Networking Technologies Laboratory, of Networks R&D at SingTel Optus, and a former trustee of the global Internet Society which she represented in the IANA transition co-ordination group. Narelle is also a sitting member of auDA’s Policy Review Panel, reviewing all the policies that govern .au.

Keith Davidson, Member (Asia Pacific) Term: 2019 – 2022

Audit and Risk Committee
Compensation Committee
Advisory Council Liaison

Keith Davidson has held senior management and board positions in the not-for -profit and commercial sectors. Mr. Davidson’s expertise crosses a variety of disciplines including newspaper, radio and more recently focused on the Internet.  He has held various roles including Executive Director and member of the Governing Council of InternetNZ, which manages the .nz top level domain. He served on the Internet Society Board of Trustees from 2012 to 2015.

Gregory Kapfer, Member (North America) Term: 2019 – 2022

Compensation Committee, Chair
Finance and Investment Committee

Greg brings over 25 years of financial, operational, and management experience from both for-profit and not-for-profit technology companies to his PIR Board role.  He was most recently Chief Financial Officer of the Internet Society from 2007-2016.

Andrew Sullivan, ISOC CEO Liaison (N. America)

Andrew Sullivan joined the Internet Society as President and Chief Executive Officer in September 2018.

He has worked on Internet infrastructure and standards since 2001. In 2012 he joined Dyn (later, Oracle Dyn) to establish Dyn Labs and then to manage the DNS development and architecture departments. His activities in this area led to him being appointed to the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) in 2013. His IAB colleagues elected him Chair in 2015 and 2016.

Past Public Interest Registry Board Directors

First Name Last Name Term(s)
Gerry Barañano 2002-2003
Larry Landweber 2002-2003
Alan Levin 2002-2003
Andy Linton 2002-2003
Marc Rotenberg 2002-2006
Frode Greisen 2002-2004
David Maher 2002-2004
Lynn St.Amour 2002-2013 (ISOC Liaison)
Geoff Houston 2003-2005
Kenny Huang 2003-2004
Amadeu Abril i Abril 2003-2005
Susan Estrada 2004-2007
Barbara Fraser 2004, 2005-2007, 2008-2011
Eva Frolich 2004-2007
Glenn Ricart 2004-2006, 2007-2010, 2010-2011
Pindar Wong 2006
Kuo-Wei Wu 2008-2009
Raimundo Beca 2011-2014
Erik Huizer 2007-2015
Maarten Botterman 2008-2016
Amitabh Singhal 2010-2016
Art Reilly 2011-2017
Eric Burger 2015-2017
Ingrid Srinath 2013-2018
Hartmut Glaser 2014-2018
Kathryn Brown 2013-2018 (ISOC Liaison)
Roberto Gaetano 2013-2019
Tosca Bruno-van Vijfeijken 2016-2019
Suzanne Woolf 2018-2019